Quality Improvement for Institutions


Bundled Payments for Care Improvement (BPCI) Advanced

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) is accepting applications for the second cohort of the Bundled Payments for Care Improvement (BPCI) Advanced program. The ACC anticipates that measures from the CathPCI Registry, Chest Pain – MI Registry and ICD Registry will be available for reporting, making this an easy option for those who want to participate in this incentive program. Additional details will be listed here as they become available. Read more on ACC.org.

BPCI Advanced is a voluntary model run by CMS that incentivizes participants to improve care coordination and quality of care and reduce the cost of care in up to 37 outpatient and inpatient clinical episodes. The second cohort, also known as Model Year 3, will begin on Jan. 1, 2020, and run through Dec. 31, 2023. 

BPCI Advanced qualifies as an Advanced Alternative Payment Model (Advanced APM) under the Quality Payment Program (QPP). Providers who wish to participate in this program must self-nominate and must be able to meet the relevant payment or patient thresholds under the model to qualify for the Advanced APM bonus and be exempt from the Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS). Under the program, participants can report the Administrative Quality Measures Set; claims-based measures; or the Alternate Quality Measures Set, which is a combination of claims-based and registry-based measures.

Applications must be submitted through the CMS application portal by 11:59 p.m. ET on Monday, June 24. CMS will not accept applications submitted via email. Click here for additional information about the model and its requirements or to download a request for applications document, the application template, and the necessary attachments.

ACC Resources

CMS Announces Start of BPCI Advanced Second Cohort Application Period
ACC Alternative Payment Model Framework

CMS Resources

BPCI Advanced Information
BPCI General FAQ
BPCI Application Process FAQ
BPCI Advanced: Participant Resources

Temp Styles

American College of Cardiology: 2400 N St. NW, Washington DC 20006